Here to eternity? Border Path

By: snowgood

Oct 06 2018

Category: Sussex, The Sussex Border Path, Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/16
Focal Length:35mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:ILCE-6000

Once I’d left Foxcombe Farm behind me I was straight into West Harting Down.

Except this “Down” was more like a forest, which seemed to go on forever.

I joined a broad trail and kept plodding.

Along the way I saw the odd deer, and in the distance heard a family out mountain biking.

In the main I was on my own, aiming for the pub at Chalton where I hoped to sit down for a meal.

Apart from “thought time” these woodland stages were far from enthralling.

Eventually I broke out into paddock area, and spoke with a young mum caring for her pony.

I walked on, but later she caught me up and pointed me in the right direction.

At Woodcroft Farm the Sussex Border Path crosses a minor road, and railway line before climbing steeply.

After 144 feet of climbing Ditcham Park School came into view.

Not that I stood and stared for that long, as the Red Lion was now just 5 minutes away.

Just what I needed after 3 hours 50 minutes on foot.

 

 

Leave a comment