Super Hero – Sussex Border Path

By: snowgood

Jan 23 2018

Tags: , , ,

Category: people, The Sussex Border Path

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.2
Focal Length:4.15mm
ISO:25
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:iPhone 6s

Walking is more than following a path or enjoying the odd “mountain top” experience.

Saturday started well when I chanced upon a couple of elderly South Africans.

They’d left Crawley for East Grinstead but missed the Worth Way.

Instead they trudged alongside a busy road before joining the correct path some time later.

Depressed?

Not a bit!

Rain was pouring down, their rucksacks heavy, but they were jubilant.  Having a great time, in practice for a London 25 km trek in the summer.

Nearly three hours later I’d been over the M23 and passed under the Gatwick Airport approach road.

A man in his forties appeared pushing a toddler on a tricycle.

Would he allow eye contact?  Say hello?  Smile?

Not a chance.

Miserable so and so.

Then as I checked my map, I found the tiniest of openings and “my” footpath heading west.

Apart from a completely waterlogged track what had I found?

Tipper lorries, aggregates, and Thor himself!

Uplifted by the appropriate “strong man”artwork, I wished I could show Elijah this “Thor” superhero.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment