Context

By: snowgood

Sep 26 2011

Category: Christianity, Faith, Fear, Jesus, Scripture

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:4.3mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:Canon IXUS 220HS

Not so long ago I was a guest at Christian College.

I was able to treat my brothers and sisters to a meal, and over the course of a few days get to know them.

Recently I heard that some of thse very same people have been shot at and injured, all because they shared their faith.

Over the last few days I’ve been reflecting on what I learnt at the college, and also the almost total misunderstanding of what it is to be a follower of Jesus in our material society.

It’s all too easy to “grab a text” which sounds “cool” and then make it mean what we want, and shape it to our own image of God.

Looking at this early rotary engine Mazda two weeks back I  was delighted to see the sun strip is based upon scripture, but now I think about it again I’m not so sure.  Anybody owning a classic car has the fear that at some stage it might break.  Parts on 1970s cars are almost certainly in short supply, but what was Isaiah writing about in Chapter 43?

If we don’t know his “drift” then can we really apply it to our situation today?  Wast he looking ahead to a day when Israel would reform, and track back to their homeland from all across the globe? I’m not sure, but we need to guard against taking scripture out of context.

Maybe we’re isolated from persecution today but will we still not fear when some bursts into our home firing a gun into our face? I wonder.

Let’s not turn our backs on our Christian brothers and sisters who daily count the cost to serve their Lord.  I’d love to give you pictures and names, but this may only add to their risks.  One thing I know, when one part of the church suffers we all suffer, whether we realise it or not.

Leave a comment