The Avenue – Sussex Border Path

By: snowgood

Oct 09 2018

Tags:

Category: aircraft, The Sussex Border Path, Walking, World War II

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:35mm
ISO:500
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:ILCE-6000

Leaving Finchdean behind I strode out across the field heading into the northern reaches of Rowlands Castle.

I was here earlier in this year, but heading in the opposite direction.  Back then each step was accompanied by a squelch, and often a slide.

Thankfully this time round it was dry.  A little later I was filtering through a short lane, and across an open field before taking the old brick bridge over the railway.

Once on the Finchdean Road it was only a short walk before the route crossed over into Stansted Forest.

It looked like ideal country for a mountain bike ride, but the signs indicated otherwise.

After a short climb through “The Sling” the path broadened out into a grassy avenue. Then I played “Hunt the Gap”, as the Sussex Border Path hangs a right part way down.

Would I miss it?  In truth it was further down than I anticipated, with a large wooden cross placed as a memorial to a WWII Typhoon pilot who crashed here in 1944.

Ah, that evoked memories of an old Airfix model I made as a teenager.

That mega house at the end of the tree lined way is (unsurprisingly) Stansted House. Probably worth a visit.

Not that I could, there was still some way to go.

 

 

Leave a comment