The Advocate

By: snowgood

Aug 05 2017

Tags: , ,

Category: Architecture, GOD, Scripture

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.2
Focal Length:4.15mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/16 sec
Camera:iPhone 6s

Earlier in the year I started at Matthew and read through to Revelation.

Latterly I started in Malachi and began working through the Bible in reverse.

Last week I was pondering the life of David.  Specifically his time “on the run”.

Whilst serving King Saul he repeatedly finds himself dodging spears as the sovereign’s bitterness and envy get the better of him.

The instinct for survival takes hold of David, and he goes “on the run”.

Jonathan’s assurances are not enough, the heir apparent finds himself ducking and diving in the remote parts of the promised land with Saul and his army in hot pursuit.

Twice “The King” is unwittingly left at David’s mercy, and his new found friends advise him to kill the king.

All the ingredients are there, David has the power and ability to turn a “call of nature” into a grasp of the throne.

Logic screams out “Kill the King”, but David plays the long game trusting in his Lord.

As Saul walks away none the wiser David calls after him,

“May the LORD therefore judge which of us is right and punish the guilty one. He is my advocate, and he will rescue me from your power!”

1 Samuel 24.15

You might be wondering how today’s picture fits on with the story.  It was taken towards the end of a 30 mile bike ride.

Along the way I was berating dodgy drivers, and one Saab driver who’d obstructed the cycle route through Tilgate Forest.

Grrr, these things really get me agitated.

The soft music, and fabulous architecture at Worth Church made a fitting end to our ride.

Inside the Norman building a sense of peace washed over us.

Today I was thinking of this verse

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

John 14.27

Looking at it in a wider context I see Jesus precedes this famous passage with

But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.

John 14:26

That’s quite some gift, but just like David we have to “tap into the resource” rather let our own stubborn wills take control.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

