The Bat – Book Review 31

By: snowgood

Jul 24 2017

Tags: ,

Category: books, Humour, literature

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.2
Focal Length:4.15mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/16 sec
Camera:iPhone 6s

It’s not every day that you get whopping tax rebate.

That’s what it took to make me take a lunch break.

When we first moved to our new office I walked into the town centre every lunch time, but now I’ll go three months without bothering.

Rather than simply bank the cheque I decided to look out for “Vet in Harness” which is title Waterstones didn’t have in stock.

I was tempted by Stuart Maconie’s book about the Jarrow march, but instead picked up a book by an author who sometimes appears on the Radcliffe and Maconie show.

Jo Nesbo’s “The Bat”.

It was a good choice.

The writing style flows.

The reader enters another dimension, and despite the subject matter (serial murder) it’s filled with humour.

Not Ken Dodd stuff, and maybe I’m exaggerating, but there’s bits that made me smile.

As a Christian I was fascinated by the Aboriginal folklore, which had parallels with Genesis.

I particularly enjoyed the last chapter, which in a way wasn’t necessary. ¬†Nevertheless it rounded off a “thriller” which I simply raced through.

9 out of 10!

 

Leave a Reply

