Climbing Rackham Hill

By: snowgood

Jun 28 2017

Tags:

Category: Cycling, South Downs Way, Walking

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.2
Focal Length:4.15mm
ISO:25
Shutter:1/926 sec
Camera:iPhone 6s

It was a good thing that I was late for lunch.

When Roz arrived at the George and Dragon in Houghton she was told “No Food” as all the tables were booked.

Not being keen to take no for an answer I went to the bar looked at the handful of people still eating and innocently asked for the menus.

I was told “You’ve got 5 minutes”.

In effect we’d beaten the ban, and would eat after all.

We had a very cheerful young waitress who did her best to look after us, but the food was pretty disappointing.

My steak wasn’t a patch on the one I’d eaten in The Three Horseshoes three days earlier.

On the plus side I’d enjoyed a 90 minute break, and set off after coffee with renewed vigour.

After crossing the Arun I discovered a bit of The South Downs Way that I’d missed on previous rides in the opposite direction.

I also got my best view yet of Amberley Castle.

Then the tough part.  Slogging up the slopes of Rackham Hill in bottom gear.

After getting ahead of 4 incredibly determined girls I soon found that they were making quicker progress on foot than I could in the saddle.

Mind you it was steep.  So I started walking too.  I had been in grave danger of going over backwards!

Once the path levelled out I got back on my bike and started making decent progress.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

