Idyllic Buriton

By: snowgood

Jun 25 2017

Tags: ,

Category: adventure, Cycling, South Downs Way

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.2
Focal Length:4.15mm
ISO:25
Shutter:1/432 sec
Camera:iPhone 6s

My first four and half hours on the South Downs Way were entirely under grey skies.

This was a blessing, as I’d have wilted if the weather had been as hot as it had been the few days prior to my trip.

I can’t stress enough, my attempt at cycling the route over the course of three days was woefully planned.

We didn’t sort out an overnight stay until driving through Petersfield just two hours before the pedals started to turn.

Then when we eventually made it to Winchester we had a struggle to find the official route guide.

W.H.Smith had a plethora of guides the South West Coast Path, but just the one for the SDW.

Thankfully it was the same size as an OS map and slotted neatly into my cycling shorts.

Suitably equipped with my guide I metaphorically ticked all the boxes between the start and my “get off point” above Buriton.

Now here’s the rub.  The most beautiful part of my journey was the village at the end, which nestles under the northern slopes of the South Downs Way.

In other words, the best bit wasn’t on the official route at all.

Guided to the church by a cheery publican (who didn’t even get my passing trade), I then coasted through this idyllic village.

Fancy mansions, great looking pubs, a pond, an extraordinary church, an official looking private square all added up to a place that would be worthy of a period drama.

Here’s the main car park, and pond viewed from the church entrance.

 

Leave a Reply

