In appreciation

Forty odd years ago I was struggling with an awful job, and a bit of old fashioned persecution.

A small minded colleague was annoyed to find a Christian within spitting distance of his desk. Week in week out, Gary did his best to make my life a misery.

One day I came home and read Psalm 37.

I simply loved it. David’s writings put the whole thing in context.  he revealed what God had in store for “the wicked” and I felt ten times better.

In fact I was so thrilled I got a piece of paper and banged it out on my Dad’s typewriter, and then stuck it up on my bedroom wall.

Since then I’ve been encouraged by singing the refrain from Psalm 143.1 “O Lord hear my prayer” especially during Alpha sessions back in Chudleigh.

Latterly I’ve somehow missed out on the grandeur of The Psalms, but this year the penny has dropped.

David, Asaph, Solomon, The sons of Korah, their all baring their souls before God, and holding nothing back.

Woe to us “Stiff Upper Lip” believers who find we can’t be real with The Lord.  As if he doesn’t know us!

Today I’ve been reading Psalm 78 which speaks of the children of Israel.

Yet they kept on sinning against him,

rebelling against the Most High in the desert.

They stubbornly tested God in their hearts,

demanding the foods they craved.

They even spoke against God himself, saying,

“God can’t give us food in the wilderness.

Yes, he can strike a rock so water gushes out,

but he can’t give his people bread and meat.”

Psalm 78 v17-20

How preposterous!

Later in the Psalm Asaph lists 15 verses that show God had shown them he could be trusted, but they resolutely refused to believe he could feed them.

Oops, isn’t that just like you and me?

Who are we to determine what God can and can’t do?

We would do well to watch out in case our lack of faith betrays a hint of defeatism, or an attitude that says we know better.

Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. Proverbs 3:5

Leave a Reply

