Smell the Coconut

By: snowgood

May 16 2017

Tags: , ,

Category: birds, Flowers, South West Coast Path, Walking

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.2
Focal Length:4.15mm
ISO:25
Shutter:1/2023 sec
Camera:iPhone 6s

Here our small troupe is approaching Warren Cottage, which you can see marked on the Ordnance Survey map on the previous post.

As I took my aim a strong “coconut” smell drifted into my nostrils.

By the time I was back on track Jim was smelling the yellow flowers checking out the powerful scent.

I’m quite partial to coconut, but for the life opt me I can’t think why a yellow bush in May should smell like the fruit of a tropical island.

Whilst we wandered westwards our ears delighted in the eloquence of nigh on invisible Skylarks overhead.

With patience we eventually spotted a few as they parachuted back to earth.

At time like this I reminisce about my youth.  The skylark song was evident above fields and golf courses virtually everywhere.

I was also saddened by the virtual absence of Swallows and Swifts.  Thankfully there were numerous House Martins swooping above woodland as we headed back.

 

Leave a Reply

