17. The Power House – J. Buchan

By: snowgood

Apr 22 2017

Tags: , ,

Category: literature

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:7.507mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/14 sec
Camera:Canon IXUS 220HS

I continue to milk the benefits of my Kindle, and like the fact I can “buy” out of print books  for anything between nothing at all or 49p.

Despite a busy schedule I’ve just completed “The Power House”, which is part of John Buchan’s Edward Leithen series.

It’s not a classic, but I liked the concept behind the villainy of the “Baddy” who speaks of the fragility of civilisation.

Buchan weaves a story of international intrigue. The weakness of the novel is the chapter where a “chance accident” brings the main opponents together.

That the “hero” could possibly spend a night in a stranger’s house without ascertaining his name beggars belief.

Even so it was an easy enjoyable read, and it reminded me to some extent of a book by C.S.Lewis entitled “That Hideous Strength”.

I can’t be too generous with my appraisal, but I’d give it 6 out of 10, and suggest it as a “light read” for anyone on a long journey, or time to unwind whilst on the beach.

The photo has nothing to do with the plot, other than the fact it’s of the Hungarian Houses of Parliament on the Danube.

Leave a Reply

