The Racing Line

By: snowgood

Mar 26 2017

Tags: , ,

Category: ART, Cars

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.2
Focal Length:4.15mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/33 sec
Camera:iPhone 6s

Yesterday I bought three sheets of black foam and a white marker. For not much than a fiver I had the ingredients for a bit of creativity.

It might look like a schoolboy effort, but in reality this took over 6 hours and I’m reasonably pleased with the result.

On his last visit Tom suggested a full Waddingtons Formula 1 season, but as much as I like the game I thought we could do with a greater sense of realism.

I’m hoping to create are replicas of the tracks used in the 1973 Formula 1 season.

Look at cardboard base to see a fairly accurate facsimile of Argentina’s G.P. track at Buenos Aries.

I worked with a scale rule and calculator to increase a basic sketch by a factor of six.

My next task was to try and make the circuit more realistic, and make subtle changes to reflect  my take on the classic board game.

Here you can see the plastic cars from our 1972 game, which will be guided around the circuit in correlation to the dashboard and dials from the same set.

Having laboured away for hours I now know how I’ll save time on my next track, but for now all I need is  half an hour to finish the details and some opposition.

Incidentally I was with my folks today for lunch, and afterwards my Dad and I tried to watch the Australian Grand Prix.  Boring!

We switched off before it reached half distance.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

