The Moon Endureth

By: snowgood

Mar 03 2017

Tags: , ,

Category: adventure, books, Photography

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/7.1
Focal Length:200mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 30D

World Book Day.

Ooops I missed it.

Weird that I only heard about it the day after the event.

So what’s with the title, and photo?

Well at 1:00am this morning I finished my eleventh book this year.

A right good ‘un.

John Buchan’s Moon Endureth was first published in 105 years ago.

I found the title intriguing, and snapped up the book on my Kindle for nothing.

Initially it proved disappointing, as I hadn’t realised it was a whole bunch of poems and short stories.

After that disappointment (the format would have been immediately apparent in a paperback) I stuck with it and enjoyed the short stories.

The book dances around all over the place, but my favourite extracts were these;

  1. The Grove of Ashtaroth – Fantastic story that will appeal to Old Testament scholars
  2. The Lemnian -A Persian gets caught up in a battle whilst seeking another God
  3. Space – Superb account of how an academic comes to believe in another dimension

One plus for those of you with a kindle, the wiki link will help you understand many of the now defunct Scot’s words.

Book Score: 8 out of 10

Leave a Reply

