expanding horizons

By: snowgood

Dec 21 2016

Tags: ,

Category: adventure, Cycling, Life, South Downs Way

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.2
Focal Length:2.65mm
ISO:32
Shutter:1/344 sec
Camera:iPhone 6s

We’re just ten days from the end of the year, a time when many are looking back.

Whilst cleaning my teeth this morning it suddenly dawned on me that I’m actually looking forward, and had barely thought about the passing of another year.

What has happened inside to change my state of mind?

We’re in the midst of a huge readjustment, as Joe, Nancy, Elijah, Tirzah, and Taliah have moved into a home of their own.

Little things like losing the chunky Ikea plates we used to share make each day feel that little bit different.

Joe was very good at doing the routine stuff like keeping the garden tidy, and now it’s little old me filling the wheelie bin with dead leaves.

Away from home I’ve been pushing myself pretty hard.

Nine months is enough to bring a new child into the world, but between March and December we’ve enjoyed having a “second home”.

We made the use of every weekend (bar two) to get away, and see an elderly aunt in her residential home, whilst using her bungalow which has just been sold.

In essence this re-ignited my love for adventure.  Buying a couple of bikes opened a wider vista.  Rather than just trudge down to the Sea Lane Cafe my horizons expanded.

Super fast broadband is all very well, but slogging up hills to discover ponds, windmills, and the like is so empowering.

These days I find myself looking at where I can go next, and what’s the most exciting route.  Instead of packing more into  day, I do less – but get to enjoy the journey.

Heading across Chaldon Common in a foggy twilight typifies the essence of this “New Life” I’ve discovered.

As we approach Christmas (and park the bike outside the church) it’s good to be reminded that Jesus came into this world to seek out all who are weary.

Perhaps the greatest adventure is just around the corner?  The Christ child left the manger and secured his followers a new way forward.

A richer today, and a brighter tomorrow.

“Look, I am coming soon! My reward is with me, and I will give to each person according to what they have done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.

Revelation 22:12-13

Here’s to our future, and new horizons.

Photo was taken on Ditchling Down

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

