now and then

By: snowgood

Nov 17 2016

Tags: ,

Category: aircraft, Architecture, Christianity

1 Comment

Aperture:f/2.2
Focal Length:4.15mm
ISO:25
Shutter:1/1040 sec
Camera:iPhone 6s

It seems incredible but forty years ago I started my first job on the 19th floor of this geometric tower.

I hardly ever think back to those early days of employment, but today my work took me within fifty yards of my old office.

Driving around Croydon I pondered would I swap the here and now for back then?

Back then I would often cycle to work.

Now I find I’m on my bike even more than ever!

The offices were amazing.  Totally open plan through 360 degrees.

As a young 17 year old fresh out of a Boys School I couldn’t help noticing many of my colleagues were not boys, and I was being paid to work alongside them.

I’d just become a Christian and tried not to join in their Grand National and derby sweepstakes.

I was told it wasn’t optional, and won both – much the annoyance of people who’d been trying to win for years.

I simply loved watching Concorde flying around London before heading west towards Heathrow.

Would I swap now for then?

No, but the simplicity of life beat all of today’s “responsibilities” hand down.

Where the days of my new found faith more fulfilling than trying to follow Jesus in 21st century materialist Britain?

Absolutely.

 

One comment on “now and then”

  1. My first place of work was a 38,000 ton bulk carrier, which I joined in Gothenburg in October 1973 where she was in dry dock. She would have been scrapped many years ago, but she was home as well as work for five months of my life.


Leave a Reply

