Adur Paddler

By: snowgood

Nov 14 2016

Tags: , ,

Category: Cycling, South Downs Way

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.2
Focal Length:4.15mm
ISO:25
Shutter:1/739 sec
Camera:iPhone 6s

Last time I tried to cycle over to The Devil’s Dyke a tiny shard of flint stopped me in my tracks.

Today I thought I’d have another crack at this section of The South Downs Way.

I made my way through Worthing town centre, and then took the A27.  All the bus drivers gave me plenty of space, which was nice of them.

As I approached the Ricardo factory (they make McLaren’s road car engines) I crossed the dual carriageway and headed east over the Old Shoreham Bridge.

It’s a wooden construction, and today it felt treacherously slippery.

I took time out to look at the tidal River Adur which today featured a board paddler.  Or should that be a bored paddler?

It strikes me that there can be few less exciting ways to navigate a watercourse than paddling on a wind surfer.

Maybe it’s good exercise?

Twenty minutes further on my own “workout” started  with a sharp ascent towards the Truleigh Hill Youth Hostel.

 

Leave a Reply

