Swallows and Amazons

By: snowgood

Sep 26 2016

Tags: ,

Category: books

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.2
Focal Length:4.15mm
ISO:32
Shutter:1/50 sec
Camera:iPhone 6s

If you’ve been near a cinema in the last few weeks you may have noticed they’re now showing a version of the Arthur Ransome classic.

Roz and I decided to watch it at The Connaught Theatre in Worthing.

It wasn’t the best film I’ve ever seen, but it did spark my interest in the Author once again.

I was quite taken by “We didn’t mean to go to sea” which I read a few months back, and felt fairly certain I’d enjoy this paperback too.

Mind you my hazy memory was that this particular adventure was drawn out and tedious.

In truth the book was indeed more gentle than the 2016 film of the same name, but the book doesn’t really do justice to the concept of a few kids having a whale of a time in The Lake District.

I’d give the film and the book a maximum of three stars.

 

 

Leave a Reply

