Trek £1800 bike test

By: snowgood

Jul 31 2016

Tags: , ,

Category: Cycling, Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2
Focal Length:4.6mm
ISO:50
Shutter:1/500 sec
Camera:D5803

Since Easter I’ve been desperate to cycle back from Goring to Crawley Down.

I’ve also come to realise my Electra Townie 8 was never designed for serious bike rides.

So on Saturday morning I popped into South Down Cycles in Goring, and asked about the chances of a realistic test on a mountain bike.

No problem, “Come back after lunch and we’ll put some pedals on that one”.

That one is £1800 worth of “hard tail” carbon fibre machinery.

Initial impressions were

a) Wow this is light!

b) I’m not too struck on the “Ape Man” riding position.

After a quick quiche in Sea Lane Cafe I left Roz and Carina, and started pedalling.

Heading east through Worthing town centre I was still not entirely comfortable with the bike.

The disc brakes proved very effective every time the lights changed.

A short while later I was on the shared pedestrian and cyclists path all along the sea front, heading towards Shoreham.

I get infuriated by some of the pedestrians who meander along with three dogs, and no leads, and not a care in the world.

I was glad to cross the Adur and head north towards Steyning, and get the big gears turning.

Whoosh, using my “local knowledge’ I missed the town centre and rattled along towards the Cat and Canary on the outskirts of Henfield.

I can’t begin to tell you just how satisfying I found that pint of Orange & Lemonade.

In all probability I’ve never had a more satisfying drink!

 

 

Leave a Reply

