Breaking New Ground

By: snowgood

Jul 31 2016

Tags: ,

Category: Cycling

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2
Focal Length:4.6mm
ISO:50
Shutter:1/1250 sec
Camera:D5803

After my well earned drink it was time to head North.

On my left is a WW2 pill box, and ahead is another old guy on a mountain bike.

After following in his wheel tracks for a while I blasted off into the distance.

Mind you I don’t know the way, and soon found myself in a farm yard cul-de-sac, with an understanding farmer who let me out via a remotely controlled gate.

You could be forgiven for thinking these old railway lines that now serve as cycle tracks are featureless and boring.

Yes, there was a jogger with a buggy up the track (amazing), and a Heron that flew away when two bikes appeared – but other than that the trail was somewhat dull.

There’s a buzz to turning a big cog and kicking up a cloud of dust, but a few corners and elevation changes make for a more interesting ride.

By now I was gaining great confidence in the bike, the front end grip was simply superb.

My Electra would have been a handful on this track.

 

 

Leave a Reply

