worth the slog

By: snowgood

Jul 17 2016

Tags: , ,

Category: adventure, Cycling

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/6.3
Focal Length:35mm
ISO:250
Shutter:1/500 sec
Camera:ILCE-6000

It’s been pretty muggy in Worthing this afternoon.

I managed to keep out of the saddle until 7:30 this evening.

Once on the bike I started to plan my route.

My original plan to cycle back to Henfield seemed optimistic, but I decided to give it my best shot.

Pretty soon I was going through parts of Worthing which were new to my bike.

I decided to climb up through Durrington, and then onto Salvington, with a view to freewheeling down towards the edge of Findon.

One girl walking down the hill took a photo of me toiling away, but in the end I had to stop half way for a breather.

Once I’d reached the hairdresser at the top another thought came to mind.

The short residential road that carries on beyond the shortcut to Findon might just have a cycle route onto the downs.

Checking my phone my suspicions were confirmed, so I kept on climbing.

I was toiling straight ahead, but spotted a bench on my right….what if this offered a sea view?

Looking to left I could see across Goring, Ferring, and way out west the Isle of Wight was clearly visible.

The hill in this shot is 265 feet high and is just above Highdown  Gardens, which was featured on the blog a few weeks ago.

I was at around 400 feet when I took the picture, someway off the 459 feet summit.

 

 

Leave a Reply

