Renault Fregate (Bilsham Road)

By: snowgood

Jun 28 2016

Tags: ,

Category: Cars, Cycling, Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2
Focal Length:4.6mm
ISO:50
Shutter:1/2000 sec
Camera:D5803

Monday and my first day of annual leave!

On Sunday I’d considered an epic ride, to Winchester.

I checked out the Marwell Hotel and the only available rooms were twice what I wanted to pay.

Instead I thought I’d try to make an elliptical ride out from Goring to the Witterings and back.

The day started out overcast, and after fiddling around I realised I’d left my peaked hat in Roz’s car which was now 40 miles away.

Doh!

At least I had my new cycling shorts, and top to hand.

At 8:45 am I was on my way heading west, seeking out adventure.

As the wheels whirred round I started planning what I might or might not achieve.

I’d never cycled more than 50 miles in a day, and now I was hoping to go way beyond that.

I avoided the obvious and most direct route, as I wanted to explore.

East Preston looked good, and before long I was at Littlehampton going over the Arun on the red footbridge.

I diverted onto the South Coast Cycle route 2.

Between Yapton and Bilsham I came across a Gaz 24, and a few yards further on I spotted this Renault Fregate.

These were made back in the Fifties, and there are only handful left in the U.K.

If you want a flavour of what they were like check out this You Tube link.  

I’d love to see this classic Renault back on the road, but it looks like the owner has amassed several French classics and put the restoration plan on the back burner.

He also has a Renault 18 Turbo estate, and a 25 on his driveway.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

