Good Friday

By: snowgood

Mar 28 2016

Tags: , ,

Category: Death, Jesus, Sin, Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/7.1
Focal Length:142mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/1000 sec
Camera:ILCE-6000

Forty years ago I went with friends to The Worthing Tabernacle and heard Dick Saunders preach.

We sat upstairs in a packed auditorium, and I was one of many that The Holy Spirit touched.

I was already a Christian, but it was the first time I’d really come face to face with my own sin.

Sure I knew that “Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners”  but on this evening more than any other the wretchedness of my sin overwhelmed me.

That wasn’t the half of it.

I now understood a little more of the Christian faith, and the depths that Christ had to plumb to save the lost.

God made him who had no sin to be sin for us (me), so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.

Now that fact really struck home.  I don’t hear sermons like that anymore, but I’m still moved by scripture and the selfless acts of many Christians.

Roz and I have just spent Easter 2016 in Worthing.

We debated where we might go, hear an old friend in Portslade or try Worthing Tab?

Logic dictated the latter, as it was much nearer.

I really enjoyed the old hymns, but the sermon didn’t move me.

Afterwards we decided to walk down the street to the seaside, and Roz lit up as she saw the Salvation Army band marching towards us.

As ever they were First Class, and we just happened to stumble across the Easter procession as it came to halt for an open air service.

There were all manner of different congregations involved in the service, with scripture readings and hymns and an incredibly poignant short drama.

A small team from Storm enacted the scene at the crucifixion.

Forty years on I was choked, and crying in public.

Forget the bunnies and eggs.

Easter is all about Jesus.

His death, and his resurrection.

Think about it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

