new every morning

By: snowgood

Dec 20 2015

Category: Children, family

5 Comments

What a night.

Elijah had croup.

After a few hours at East Surrey Joe called home.

At 4:30am I jumped in the car to go and collect Daddy Biggs and his little lad.

A sixth sense warned me that there was something strange in the darkness, and as I turned onto the unlit road I squeezed the accelerator gently.

Hey up, there was a man walking up the road.  Moments later yet another ambulance came hurtling up the hill.

With weariness I guided Joe’s car towards Redhill.

Out on the backroads I came across a shattered telegraph pole, someone must have “gone off at great speed”, but I couldn’t see any sign of the vehicle in question.

The pair of them had been sitting in reception an hour, and it was good to see Elijah well enough to walk to the car.

How many times has Joe had to scoop him up, and buckle him in? There’s some progress, even though outwardly the pattern is all too familiar.

Back home I parked on the drive, the wee man was fast asleep.

Joe carried him in, the transition woke him up and Nancy gave him a bottle of milk.  Soon he was back in the land of Nod.

He’s not on top form today, but I can tell you I was delighted to see him running around on the driveway as Tizzy was strapped in for the family trip to Jubilee Church.

Because of the Lord’s faithful love we do not perish for his mercies never end.

They are new every morning, great is your faithfulness.

I say The Lord is my portion, therefore I will put my hope in Him.

Lamentations 3: 22-24

Verse 24 is still work in progress, how we wish we could fix everything through our own efforts…..

One small correction (to the last post), Tizzy was awake last night, and Grandma was also up keeping Taliah happy.

I chose these verses as they quickly came to mind, we had lashings of rain this morning, but the drops on the windows were as clear as crystal, giving the morning a delightful freshness.

 

 

 

 

 

5 comments on “new every morning”

  1. Sorry for your many trials.

    • Thanks Joy. I’ve come to realise that very few of us sail through life without problems….these last few days I’ve been reflecting on the life of Solomon. It’s only when we’ve been around a few decades we get to understand what life is really like.

  2. What a journey this has been! Yet through it all we know Who holds our Elijah in the palm of His hand.

  3. Lamentations is a great Book from the Bible. How must the Jews have felt about the destruction of Jerusalem and still wrote the lines you quote. I am sending you a link for a lamentation I wrote a while ago. http://wp.me/p6LpSr-o It is NOT about me. In case you wonder.


Leave a Reply

