WEC – 2015 Nurburgring 6 Hours

By: snowgood

Sep 07 2015

Tags: , ,

Category: Cars, WEC 2015

2 Comments

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:260mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/200 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 7D

Missing Photos? I’m sorry you came to late.  

This website has been re-configured for a better loading experience.  

Want to see photos of a particular car?  

Just ping me a message!

Snowgood 03/01/2016.

After a fabulous week in the sun at Devon Roz and I made our way home, where I tipped out all my dirty laundry.

Sixteen hours later I was en route for Germany (with clean clothes), for the 4th round of the 2015 World Endurance Championship.

I stopped at the IBIS Hotel in Aalst, and hit the road early on Sunday, shocked to find I still had over 190 miles to cover by the 1:00pm start.

The dashboard read out was clocking 27 degrees centigrade by 10:30am, when I made my first stop.

Stepping out of the car a wave of heat checked my progress, but a man has to do what a man has to do after 150 miles behind the wheel.

Then with just 20 odd miles to go there was a mega hold up, and dived off onto minor roads, arriving 20 minutes before the off.

But as a newbie I’d picked the wrong entrance, and was obliged to drive a further 2km, and then try and find an ooicial car park that wasn’t full.

Then there was a recalcitrant tent to erect. How come I’m utterly useless at practical stuff.  If we had rain or wind my Vango would be rendered virtually useless.

The grid was warming up as I went to buy my tickets, but unlike Silverstone (or Spa) the entrance was far from clear. 40 euros later I had a ticket, but the Germans would’ let me (or anyone else in).

Eventually I got rather blunt and explained that I hadn’t come all this way to be told where I couldn’t go, where would I be allowed in?

5A!  Another walk and I missed the start by eleven minutes.

Mark Webber was taking the no.17 Porsche 919 by the scruff of the neck, and the 18 car was also drawing away from the factory Audis.

My favourites in the Toyota were rapidly losing ground.

In LMP2 the Russian backed KCMG team were leading the way, with their ungainly looking machine showing the other contenders a clean pair of heels.

Their star driver “Nick Tandy” won Le Man outright with Porsche last time out.

I’m a sucker the bellowing Aston Martins, but the 911s and Ferraris were outperforming them this time out.

Despite the density of traffic I didn’t spot a single incident.

There was a good scrap between the By Kolles LMP1 machine, and the new liveried Rebellion driven by F1 refugee Nick Heidfield.

The Rebellion seemed to be running very high brake temperatures, just look at the discs.

The low light later in the day gave me better results, here’s another Aston at the hairpin just beyond the start finish line.

The 3.7 litre Nissan powered LMP2 cars looked good, but the ugly duckling KCMG car was a runaway class winner.

After the race I got to speak with the current world champion, Anthony Davidson, and take pictures of ex McLaren driver Alex Wurz.

Perhaps the highlight was getting up close to the cars in Parc Ferme.

Or seeing the winner stare down the barrel of my 400mm lens.

 

2 comments on “WEC – 2015 Nurburgring 6 Hours”

  1. noticing the castle in the background, 4th photo.


Leave a Reply

