if any man

By: snowgood

May 07 2015

Category: Uncategorized

3 Comments

Today I was driving on the coast road towards Brighton when I saw a man pulling a huge cross behind him!

He was making good progress, by the time I’d made my 180 degree turn I thought I’d lost him.

Then he was there again, just outside Peacehaven taking photos.

I stopped, got out my car and he was gone before I could catch him.

Moments later I’d parked further on and caught him.

Dave is raising awareness for the Kairos Prison Ministry, but this is no ordinary walk.

It started in Lands End, and is heading towards Dover in the East.

He has one like minded friend to share the load, as they walk 400 miles in their bright red outfits.

What a witness!

He shared that lives have been touched by the love of Jesus, with grown men weeping and being blessed by the Gospel.

Interested Christians are told about the ministry’s work amongst several UK and worldwide prisons.

I was thrilled to meet someone who’s embraces the apostle Paul’s sentiments.

For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes: first to the Jew,then to the Gentile.

Romans 1:16

As our own local fellowship struggles with how to reach the community I was encouraged by Dave’s commitment, and readiness to do something which provokes conversation and testimony.

I’m reminded of a further verse;

Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.

Matthew 16:24

3 comments on “if any man”

  1. It really is very simple–sharing the Good News, not that I am bold at all.

    • we are all too comfortable, and don’t have time (or concern) for our fellow man. I used to love walking through my home town with the cross every Easter – He’s worth it.

  2. It is great. Would I have the courage. I don’t think so.


Leave a Reply

