Let’s Go!

By: snowgood

Mar 22 2015

Tags: , , ,

Category: South West Coast Path, Walking

2 Comments

Aperture:f/9
Focal Length:28mm
ISO:250
Shutter:1/800 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 7D

After a two month absence I’ve at last returned to the South West Coast Path. In this shot I’m looking across Swanage to the Purbeck Ridge.

Maybe you missed my jaunt from Studland?  If so click here.

After a hectic working week I found myself flying into Gatwick Airport catching a brief glimpse of a gorgeous “Red Sky at Night”.

Back home Roz asked if I had any plans for the weekend.

“Continue my walk, do you want to come?”

Foolishly I decided to check BBC weather before turning in for the night.

The forecast cast doubts on my plans, as it wasn’t likely to be wall to wall sunshine.

But I had seen the red sky, hadn’t I?

Saturday morning and I’m really not wanting to get out of bed, still knackered from long days and travel.

Roz resolutely insisted.

In fact  quick work phone call proved I did still have some energy somewhere inside, and by just gone 9:00am we were on our way.

It was grey and miserable.

The M3 was rammed with slow moving traffic, just what we didn’t need as headed off for our walk.

Eventually we arrived.

God’s promise proved to be spot on, the BBC’s forecast wasn’t so true.

The sun was shining, a breeze was a blowing and it made me glad to be alive (again).

The first task was reconnecting with where Stuart and I left the official route in darkness.

Basically we’d stepped off piste just beyond the Tilly Whim Caves.

These bring back great memories, as I managed to walk through this famous land mark and climb out the top before Health and Saftety closed off public access around about 25 years ago,

Here they are from Anvil Point, where a lovely (disused lighthouse is situated).

Having consumed our bland Co-op cheese and ham sandwiches we started the walk “proper” as we’d reached the official route.

Every time I looked out to sea the shimmering light put me back to the weeks we spent in Whitsand Bay, and a magnificent walk around Rame Head.

For half an hour I tracked an oil tanker waiting for it to sail into the light, in the end I couldn’t get a decent shot with my default lens.

Although Roz did catch “yours truly”

shortly before we arrived at Dancing Ledge.

I’ve only been here twice, but the spot is etched on my mind as one of the most fantastic places in the whole of England.

And we’d made it.

What a privilege!

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “Let’s Go!”


Leave a Reply

