holier-than-thou

Did you see the outrageous behaviour in Saturday’s Rugby League final?

If not click this link to see a knock out punch.

Followed by another, when the guy on the ground was already unconscious.

After the event folk said it was “out of character”, and even suggested the aggressor “needs help”.

Ben Flower’s behaviour was so outrageous I’d to like to see him locked up.

I spent my school years avoiding any fight, but today when a crafty driver cut me up I was none too pleased.

Instinctively I wanted to get out, walk up to his window and remonstrate.

I’m old enough to realise this is futile, but something inside triggers an innate desire to get even.

Let’s hit the replay button.

On Saturday I was passing judgement, but by Tuesday I was up in arms about a bit of dodgy driving.

The “experts” may suggest the solution is therapy, in former times we were simply encouraged to count to ten, to let our emotions simmer down a little.

What’s going on?

Contrary to what experts may think Ben Flowers and yours truly are in the same boat.

We’re sinners.

Those reactionary emotions come from the heart.

On the outside nobody would have guessed I was upset, but I knew what was going on inside my head.

For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed evil thoughts,

adulteries, fornications, murders….

Mark 7:21

We don’t need a psychologist, but a redeemer.

Thankfully if we will but confess our sins (even secret ones) there is one who can lead us away from our shameful ways to a heavenly home.

Who’s that?

His name is Jesus.

Who gave himself for us, that he might redeem

us from all iniquity, and purify unto

himself a peculiar people, zealous of good works.

Titus 2:14

One comment on “holier-than-thou”

  1. There was none of that in my youngest son’s Saturday morning match against Cheltenham!


Leave a Reply

