Where were you in ’82?

By: snowgood

Sep 04 2014

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Photography, Walking

5 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:41mm
ISO:6400
Shutter:1/100 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 7D

Easter 1982 I was on a major hike to the UK’s highest peak.

We walked from Great Langdale to Scafell Pike.

Most of the way we had bright sunshine, but there were bits of high level mist.

From left to right;

David, Bob Bacon, Chris Hawkins, me (looking stupid) Rowena, and Fliss.

The former had snow blindness after the trek, and took a few days to recover.

Despite climbing to great heights we were able to go tobogganing using our cajoles as makeshift sleds.

At one very high point someone nearly slid right over the edge, but a quick thinker stood in the way an averted disaster.

Poor Roz was back at GreenHow with whooping cough.

Whatever became of Chris, he was a quiet eccentric in the Ron Mael mould, with a recalcitrant Citroen Visa which nearly died climbing Hardknott Pass.

Those were the days.

 

 

5 comments on “Where were you in ’82?”

  1. Ron Mael? Sparks? I have the greatest hits on CD. I used to love ‘This Town Ain’t Big Enough for the Two of Us’ and ‘Never Turn Your Back on Mother Earth.’ Those were the days indeed. Our second son was born in November 1982. I couldn’t tell you what we were doing at Easter, but I do recall spending a week in North Wales in the summer.

  2. You all look like you’re just out for a Sunday stroll, except you’re on top of the Matterhorn. Easter ’82 I was most likely at Easter brunch with husband, a 5 year old and 2 year old and extended family.

    • Joy, I can’t believe how little kit I carried back then. I was usually well prepared when doing my coast walks, but as a younger lad I hadn’t the pennies to dress sensibly. By the way Roz says it was ’83, we were married after Easter 82. 31 years ago….


Leave a Reply

