River Dweller

By: snowgood

Aug 31 2014

Tags: , ,

Category: dragonfly, Nature, Photography

3 Comments

Aperture:f/6.3
Focal Length:400mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/1000 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 7D

Having enjoyed the Sevenoaks Wildlife Reserve I decided to make a repeat visit.

Based upon my last trip I had a pretty good idea on where to find the various dragonfly species.

Even so I decided to scout around the visitor centre beforehand and found out that Banded Demoiselle’s frequent riverside locations.

Sure enough they were fluttering their delicate wings around the Darent.

On this occasion I saw far more activity.

Males flexed their thoraxes quite dramatically whilst a male and female “got together” amongst the brambles.

Despite a reasonable level of success I think I’d be better off with a 100mm macro lens.

I’d better save a few pennies.

 

 

3 comments on “River Dweller”

  1. That 100mm macro lens is on my wish list as well. 🙂 Love photographing dragonflies.. they are so accommodating about posing fairly still for long periods of time. Perfect for me. Have a great weekend!


Leave a Reply

