“As one door closes

another one opens.”

Bob’s words have been in my mind this week.

A generous friend, and former employer passed away in his sleep just over a week ago.

On Wednesday I joined 250 others as we paid our respects to a wonderful man.

It was Bob that heard of my frustration as insurance clerk in Croydon.

He and his brother decided to give me a break in sales.

I was so green and timid that it never worked out, but Bob never held it against me.

When the time came to move on another door opened.

Bob told me this always seemed to happen throughout his business life.

He found he needn’t get depressed when he lost one good customer as invariably another would come on board almost immediately.

Another time I bumped into him at a petrol station in Leatherhead, when I went to pay he’d already settled my account.

He was always in good humour, but very serious about his faith in The Lord Jesus.

After I became a Christian it was Bob who gave me a few books to ground me in the faith.

Years later when I wasn’t on top form Bob noticed and called in to see how I was doing, and chat it over.

Recently we bumped into Bob and Marg at Wakehurst Place, and had a coffee with them.  Fifteen minutes later they were back at our place, and I made a mental note to look them up more often.

Even then Bob had tips for making my days on the road more palatable, recommending a great service in audio books that could be downloaded free of charge.

And so it is that Bob has seen one last door close, but another open.

Behold, I stand at the door and am knocking;

if any one hear my voice and open the door,

I will come in unto him and sup with him,

and he with me.

Revelation 3:20

J. N. Darby translation

 

 

8 comments on ““As one door closes”

  1. I’m so sorry about the loss of your friend. This was an eloquent tribute to him, his character, and faith.

  2. Beautiful story 🙂

  3. This picture of him is a spittin’ image my husbands uncle. Can’t believe how closr the resemblance is.

  4. A great tribute to a great friend.
    I am thankful for a similar type of friend in my early Christian life . . . well, actually for several much older Christians who helped me and gave me a deep love of the Word.
    I believe we will all enter that last door very, very soon. Time is running out. May we be faithful to show forth His message of love, mercy and grace to all we meet while they still have time.


Leave a Reply

